About us


The Institute of the Carmelite Sister of St. Teresa(C.S.S.T) was founded in 1887 by Mother Teresa of St. Rose of Lima (a resident of Chennai) in the town of Ernakulam in Kerala.

It was a time when the vast majority of people were living in squalor and misery and the poor were compelled to beg on the streets to earn a living. A caste-ridden society was the order of the day.

Mother Teresa, an educationist with a spiritual and social thrust and great zeal, was convinced that all human beings are children of God, with a right to live in dignity.

With the first foundation, St. Teresa's Convent, Ernakulam, she started a school where all types of students, irrespective of their social and financial status, were admitted. In the short span of her life as founders (1887-1902), she also set uo an orphanage for the poor, whom society discarded, and even personally nursed the sick inmates of the convent during epidemics at that time. A Dispensary, Industrial school for the poor, and a Home for the aged poor, were also started. She was a pacesetter, who visited even the prison and attended to the spiritual needs of the prisoners. She brought about liberation from the chains of casteism and poverty.

Imbued by her spirit, the Carmelite Sister of St. Teresa serve in the field of education, social and health action.

Learn more

St. Teresa


Carmel School, Giridih founded in 1954 is owned and administered by the Carmelite Sister of St. Teresa, Eastern province. It is inspired by the teaching of Jesus Christ, whose values were love, peace, brotherhood, equality, joy, service, forgiveness etc. It is a Minority School enjoying the relevant rights and privileges guaranteed by the Indian Constitution. As a catholic school, it tries to promote the holistic development of young people based on the integral vision of the human person, of life and of the world. The Management and the Staff, faithful to the spirit and charism of our Founders, Mother Teresa of St. Rose of lima, work together for the common goal of forming young people in it citizens, worthy of God and worthy of our nation and the world. In our educative mission, the participation and collaboration of the Educative Community (Management, Staff, Students, Parents and Guardians) is an indispensable feature. The sense of shared responsibility and active involvement in order to achieve the common goals and vision of education enables us to form one family. Human values such as honesty, openness, trust, willingness to serve others, courtesy and thoughtfulness help to foster the family spirit. In this family atmosphere, each teacher will be able to exercise positive influence on the environment of the school, and work in harmony with others, while respecting their view and appreciating their contributions. Teachers with their words and actions help students to establish right priorities so that in all situations they are guided to live by faith in God.

In our educative endeavor we strive to form our young people to become honest, active and committed citizens of our Nations, thus making each student responsible in building India according to the spirit of the Constitution, inculcating in them values such as justice, equality, liberty, respect for human dignity, fraternity and unity.

The School is affiliated to the Jharkhand Academic Council, Ranchi and prepares the students for the JAC examination.

Discover more

Our Principal

Sr. Pushpa Ligouri

Principal and head visionary, Sister leads the school with passion and dedication. She oversees the development of the curriculum, and student experience.

Our Faculties

Through stimulating and fun activities, our aim
is to promote all areas of a child's' development.

Our qualified staff ensure that each child's' needs are always recognised and fulfilled.

Timeline of the Principals

2023 -
12. Sr. Pushpa Ligouri
2020 - 2023
11. Sr. Divya Minj
2019 - 2020
10. Sr. Pushpa Ligouri
2005 - 2019
9. Sr. Geeta
1998 - 2005
8. Sr. Jeanette
1997 - 1998
7. Sr. Jaya Grace
1992 - 1997
6. Sr. Renee
1991 - 1992
5. Sr. Elvira
1986 - 1991
4. Sr. Irene
1982 - 1986
3. Sr. Yolande
1981 - 1982
2. Sr. Josetta
1979 - 1981
1. Sr. Ursela